Catholic FAQ



Latest Threads
newest posts



Go Back   Catholic Answers Forums > Forums > Concierge Desk > Help! How does CAF work?
 

Welcome to Catholic Answers Forums, the largest Catholic Community on the Web.

Here you can join over 300,000 members from around the world discussing all things Catholic. Membership is open to all, Catholic and non-Catholic alike, who seek the Truth with Charity.

To gain full access, you must register for a FREE account. Registered members are able to:
  • Submit questions about the faith to experts from Catholic Answers
  • Participate in all forum discussions
  • Communicate privately with Catholics from around the world
  • Plus join a prayer group, read with the Book Club, and much more.
Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. So join our community today!

Have a question about registration or your account log-in? Just contact our Support Hotline.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search Thread Display
  #1  
Old May 7, '12, 11:48 am
VeritasLuxMea VeritasLuxMea is offline
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 17, 2011
Posts: 3,182
Religion: Catholic
Default What is "dyrduhnd.com"?

Is that the same as this site? I was just flipping through and the domain name keeps coming up. Also, if I google "Catholic Answers" a bunch of "dyrduhnd.com" links appear. Anyone know what's going on?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 7, '12, 12:08 pm
Havard's Avatar
Havard Havard is offline
Regular Member
 
Join Date: April 9, 2009
Posts: 3,880
Religion: Catholic
Default Re: What is "dyrduhnd.com"?

Not sure, but according to this security site, it may be the source of a trojan virus called Trojan.Filurkes:

http://www.emagined.com/security-threat/trojan-filurkes
__________________
To lose faith is to lose purpose, and to be bereft of guidance. For a man without faith will no longer be true, and a mind without purpose will walk in dark places.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 7, '12, 12:38 pm
Elizium23's Avatar
Elizium23 Elizium23 is offline
Regular Member
 
Join Date: February 2, 2010
Posts: 3,348
Religion: Practicing Catholic
Send a message via AIM to Elizium23
Default Re: What is "dyrduhnd.com"?

It is definitely not associated with Catholic Answers. This cropped up a few months ago and if I remember correctly, it was a live mirror of the catholic.com site with every message and every control duplicated exactly. It could well be a malicious way of collecting your login and password to the forums. It could also maliciously collect all the information you send over it. If someone participated in the forum using this address, their traffic would be subject to interception by unknown parties. Never give any information to this site. Please don't even visit it. You may pick up malicious Javascript or a drive-by download.

Naturally, please remember that your network traffic is ALWAYS subject to interception by unknown parties, but routing it through Russia makes it quite a bit more dangerous, instead of known ISPs abiding by US law here.

WHOIS information says this site originates in Russia:
Quote:
Sorokin Denis Sergeevich (denissorokin@----.com)
Moscow
Moscow
Moscow,665965
RU
Tel. +7.-------------
Likewise, please do not send anything to that email address or call that number, it could well be a trap. In fact, I have censored them in my post. You may get the information on your own using a WHOIS client.
__________________
¡Viva Cristo Rey!
The conciliar Constitution Sacrosanctum Concilium encouraged the faithful to take part in the eucharistic liturgy not "as strangers or silent spectators," but as participants "in the sacred action, conscious of what they are doing, actively and devoutly"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 7, '12, 1:35 pm
VeritasLuxMea VeritasLuxMea is offline
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 17, 2011
Posts: 3,182
Religion: Catholic
Default Re: What is "dyrduhnd.com"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elizium23 View Post
It is definitely not associated with Catholic Answers. This cropped up a few months ago and if I remember correctly, it was a live mirror of the catholic.com site with every message and every control duplicated exactly. It could well be a malicious way of collecting your login and password to the forums. It could also maliciously collect all the information you send over it. If someone participated in the forum using this address, their traffic would be subject to interception by unknown parties. Never give any information to this site. Please don't even visit it. You may pick up malicious Javascript or a drive-by download.

Naturally, please remember that your network traffic is ALWAYS subject to interception by unknown parties, but routing it through Russia makes it quite a bit more dangerous, instead of known ISPs abiding by US law here.

WHOIS information says this site originates in Russia:


Likewise, please do not send anything to that email address or call that number, it could well be a trap. In fact, I have censored them in my post. You may get the information on your own using a WHOIS client.
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 7, '12, 3:40 pm
Luigi Daniele's Avatar
Luigi Daniele Luigi Daniele is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 17, 2007
Posts: 7,542
Religion: Roman Catholic
Default Re: What is "dyrduhnd.com"?

__________________

Cacciatore/Fungaiolo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Catholic Answers Forums > Forums > Concierge Desk > Help! How does CAF work?

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search Thread
Search Thread:

Advanced Search
Display

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


advertise with us

Most Active Groups
6492Meet and talk,talk talk
Last by: PaxEtBonumFides
4336CAF Prayer Warriors Support Group
Last by: mountee
4011OCD/Scrupulosity Group
Last by: Genevieve II
3656Devotion to the Sorrowful Mother
Last by: georget
3591SOLITUDE
Last by: beth40n2
2818Poems and Reflections
Last by: CAshtn16
2802Let's empty Purgatory
Last by: RJB
2655Catholic Vegetarians & Vegans
Last by: 4elise
2412For seniors and shut- ins
Last by: KrazyKat
2246The Very Fun Club
Last by: Laura15



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:54 pm.


Copyright © 2004-2013, Catholic Answers.