1 & 2 Maccabees

Let’s just talk about these books, as they are what I’ve been reading. I remember, Mel Gibson was talking about making a film about the Maccabean revolt but he never did. Pity, I think that’d have been an awesome film. So let’s discuss the context, history, and spirituality behind the books.

Some parts talk of what Antiochus did, he was that little horn that Daniel spoke of, a precursor for the antichrist.

I know that these two books are not included in the Protestant Bibles, which I wonder why. Its a shame because why keep them out from what is considered Holy Scripture?

I’m afraid its been years since I studied those books- I’m not sure I can say anything about them for this thread, but I find them to be important books, especially since they are the books Jesus Himself referred to in some Scripture.

Sadly, how incomplete the Protestant’s understanding would be since they are missing that Scripture… they would not be able to know what Jesus was talking about in certain passages. I’m sorry I’d post the passages, but I can’t even remember what it was that I found that He said that referred to Maccabees- I just know that its one of the reasons why I came home to the Catholic Church, because I found the Protestant Bible sadly lacking in totality, thus the ability to understand as Scripture itself touts that Scripture must be taken as a whole. How can they when books are missing?