1935 Daily Missal

Hello,

I attend an indult Latin Mass and have been given a daily 1935 Roman Missal by one of the parishoners.

Is this Missal too old to be used or will it be fine? I ask because I know that revisions of the Tridentine Mass were made after 1935. It also has holy days of obligation, were these changed after Vatican II?

Lastly, can someone please clarify what a daily missal is and what it is used for. I ask because I am new to the Tridentine Mass and I am still learning about it.

Thanks

Missals tend to be printed on high quality paper that is intended to last. I see no reason why after less than 75 years you can’t get a lot of use out of it.

A hand missal is used by some Catholics to follow the mass. A daily missal includes the propers for all of the days of the year, not just Sunday.

As far as a 1935 missal’s content, it certainly would provide enough info for the faithful to follow along. Now if you were a priest, it would be a different story, an up to date missal would be needed as some of the words/gestures, etc., had changed since that date. But for the faithful, I’m sure that a 1935 would be more than sufficient for your purposes.

I use Missals and prayer books from the 20s - 50s and there really is no major difference. The only differences I can think of are the absence of St. Joseph in the Canon and the presence of the third Confiteor.

As Kielbasi said - a weekly missal just includes the propers for Sundays and Holy Days, while a daily missal contains the propers for every day.

The feasts after 1935 will be missing. You will also be missing one Common for the feasts of Popes introduced in 1952- Si Diligus Me