2nd baptism for a child formerly catholic and now attending a different church

Hello, I’m new to this link and am searching for advice. My daugher and grand daughter who were baptised catholic are now attending a different denomination. She invited us to her church and party for her daughters
baptism. She is 5. I mentioned to her that she’s already baptised and I respectfully declined the offer. Was I wrong?

No you were right as far as I personally am concerned.

Does the new denomination know she has already been baptised? I would be surprised they would do it if they knew it had already been done.

I don’t think you were in the wrong, personally.

If they are Baptist, Nazarene, or Pentecostal, there’s a very good chance that they don’t recognize her baptism as an infant as valid. They would do the same if she were baptized as an infant in a Presbyterian or Lutheran church. That said, in my experience, five is really young for those groups.

If they are paedobaptists, then there is still the possibility that they may see the baptism as invalid since it was done in the Catholic Church. It’s hard to say, but particularly anti-Catholic denominations may hold that view.

Either way, declining seems to be a good move. Even if nothing is happening sacramentally at the baptism, someone is still acting as-if the Catholic baptism didn’t count, and going would appear to agree with that.

Some denominations see baptism as a sign of affiliation with that denomination. I don’t think that’s common though.

St. Paul teaches us that there “is one Lord, one faith and one baptism.” Eph 4:5

Churches that do not recognize their baptism are highly problematic.

Yes, you are correct in not attending.

A second “baptism” does nothing, because there is no such thing. All mainline Protestant churches recognize Catholic baptism.