2nd baptism???

Hi there,
I have a question regarding baptisms. A friend’s baby daughter had surgery a few months back. She hadn’t been baptised yet so the night before the surgery, their family priest baptised her in the hospital. Thankfully, she has made a full recovery. I thought maybe there would be a get-together to celebrate now she is home, but not a Church baptism ceremony. Today I received an invite for her baptism at Chuch. I am confused because I thought you could only be baptised once. Don’t get me wrong. I am happy to have a chance to share this day with my friends but I am still learning and curious about Church rules. I am getting too hung up on the details or is there an exception for special circumstances? Thanks!

The baby should definitely not be rebaptized. To rebaptize someone who was validly baptized is a sacrilege, not to mention that it also contradicts the Creed, in which we confess “one baptism unto the remission of sins,” not several baptisms.

The child probably had only the pouring of the water and the speaking of the formula at the time of her baptism in the hospital. What they are having now are probably the rest of the ritual: the anointing with chrism, the presentation of the white garment, the light and the ephpheta rite.

:yup: in fact this is what is supposed to be done in cases of emergency ‘bare bones’ baptisms - when it’s possible, the rest of the rituals are meant to be completed in church. :thumbsup:

Thanks for your quick & thoughtful replys. That makes so much sense!:newidea:

nomie,
Just to reinforce what others have already posted: Baptism can only happen once. What you have actually been invited to attend is a special ceremony in which the Rites of the Church (which were lacking in the emergency) are supplied. For all practical purposes, this will look just like any other baptism, except that there will be no pouring of water with the Trinitarian formula; since of course, that’s already been done.