3 Stages of Jesus Prayer

Hello everyone,

Could someone please help me understand the meaning and purpose of the 3 stages of the Jesus Prayer.

Thank you!

I’m not an expert, I’m just learning. But here’s what I understand so far

First stage is something like memorization. When you say the words over and over that you are familiar with the words.

Second is praying in our minds. When the words become part of our consciousness and we start saying the words as if they are our own. We also start to live the prayer through conscious thought.

Third is prayer from the heart. When we become the prayer itself, in thought, action, everything.

Constantine gave you a pretty good summary. I’ll add this:

Prayer of the lips is where we are merely aware of the words themselves. We are just reciting the words, saying them over and over.

Prayer of the mind is where we begin to become aware of the meaning of the words (St. Thomas Aquinas says that we know the sense of the words at this part), and begin to contemplate that meaning.

Prayer of the heart is where we have reached such a point of union with God that words are inadequate, and we have simply become the prayer.

St. Thomas actually writes about this (I am unaware if this part of the Summa was influenced by Byzantine spiritual theology, but it would be interesting to find out).

ACEGC

From my understanding in using the Jesus Prayer…the first step is saying the prayer out loud…becoming familiar with it…the second step is being able to pray “in the mind”…where the words are not spoken…but the mind is filled with the prayer…the third stage is “becoming the prayer” in one’s spirit…to “pray without ceasing”…to live in such a way that the “prayer’ is now part of who you are…it’s a constant 'internal spiritual dialog”…