3rd secret of Fatima

I am currently studying the events of Fatima and found a site, which really puts the story of the 1917 Fatima apparitions into perspective. Once you realize that the witnesses to the apparitions were young children, you can quickly start to imagine the manipulation that might (would) have occurred. Our Lady would not have appeared to 3 innocent children and then frighten them with stories and visions of hell. That is absurd. Although this site is promoting a book (the one Mel Gibson has purchased for film rights) the simple synopsis of the events in Fatima make more sense than anything I have read.

www.3rdsecretoffatima.com

welcome to the forums, please check out the stickies for forum rules, if you post the same question on several forums the discussion gets muddled.

1 Like

It is legitimate for Catholics to disbelieve in such apparitions since they aren’t part of the Church’s doctrine. Still, large crowds saw some some very strange things happen in the heavens at the time the children said Mary was to appear, which can’t be accounted for by the credulity of children.
And actually in any such case the local bishop investigates such apparitions thoroughly and decides if something supernatural happened or not. Actually, I don’t remember specifically what the bishop said his investigation into Fatima. Does anyone know what the bishop said?

I’ve studied the Fatima apparitions for some time (I’m Anglican btw) and have come to the personal conclusion that they were genuine. And I remember reading in several sources that the Bishop said that the apparitions were “worthy of belief”. Don’t forget tha these were private revelations and the Catholic Church never makes credence in private revelations mandatory. At the same time if a bishop says that the revelation MAY be accepted or believed by the laity, that’s as far as the Church is going to go and if you feel that it’s genuine, the Church won’t stand in your way.