4 Marks of the Church


I’ve often heard people refer to the “marks of Christ’s Church” in defense of the belief that the Catholic Church is, indeed, the one true Church. (I think I might have been able to sneak another use of the word “church” in there, but I couldn’t figure out how.) I understand that they are

  1. One
  2. Holy
  3. Catholic, and
  4. Apostolic.
    On what is this based? I know that this appears in the Nicene creed, but, other than that, I have no idea where it comes from. Is there a list somewhere in the New Testament that I’m missing? :smiley:


Try this article:


I think it does a good job of explaining reason for the four marks of the True Church.

“The Pillar of Fire, Pillar of Truth” gives biblical references too:



Thanks, Eden! That had definitely been confusing me.


DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in these forums do not necessarily reflect those of Catholic Answers. For official apologetics resources please visit www.catholic.com.