57 Years Mormon

I’m brand new here. I started RCIA last Sunday. I’m very excited about my journey. I left the Mormon church after 57 years of faithful activity. I still study Mormonism a lot, but not because I believe in it, but because I’m just fascinated at how they were ever able to, and still continue to pull off such a hoax.

I look forward to joining in your discussions.

Welcome home! :smiley: May I ask what brought you out of Mormonism and into Christianity, specifically Catholicism.

Well, my reasons for leaving were personal. But basically, I started studying the history of Mormonism and realized that I had been lied to all my life. It made me quite angry, to be honest. I felt betrayed. I wandered for a couple of years and was at a point where I wasn’t even sure if there was a God. Over time, I felt my heart drawing me back. I attended several different churches, even giving the Mormons another chance. Then I walked into a Catholic mass with my wife and have never looked back. I can only say that the Spirit was there in ways I have never experienced in my 60+ years of living. I’m on my way home.

Well we’re very happy to have you, and that you finally decided to come to Christ after 57 years in a cult! I will pray for you brother, that you continue your journey towards God. :pray:

I’m very happy for you!! Funny, the effect that a little studying can do. I have heard that Mormons who study the history of their church will usually end up leaving it, whereas when Christians study the history of the early church, they end up becoming either Catholic or Orthodox. History refutes Mormonism and affirms Catholicism.

I just want to warn you though, that Catholics are not known for being as tight-knit and welcoming as Mormons. You are probably not going to get the fellowship that you got from the LDS, but don’t let it discourage you. You made the right choice for your soul. God bless.