7th Day Adv. diets


#1

Are Seventh day Adventists vegan for theological reasons or simply their idea for good health?


#2

I don’t think SDAs are vegan–at least not officially. I think the official position encourages something more like lacto-ovo vegetarian.

Pork is prohibited, and shellfish (although Ellen White had a thing for oysters, so they don’t count, apparently :wink: ) because of the OT dietary laws.

Buth they have other prohibition that seem more health-related than theological.


#3

[quote=JoyfulOne]Pork is prohibited, and shellfish (although Ellen White had a thing for oysters, so they don’t count, apparently :wink: ) because of the OT dietary laws.
[/quote]

Definitely…a lot of their ‘traditions’ are based on Mosaic Law.

Lisa


#4

[quote=MJE]Are Seventh day Adventists vegan for theological reasons or simply their idea for good health?
[/quote]

They are encouraged to be vegetarians, not vegans and to stay away from caffeine or other addictive substances. They are to dress modestly without much adornment, without jewelry and to treat their body as the temple of the Holy Spirit as the Bible expresses.

They are among the healthiest people in the world presently.

Peace…

Fa Chan


DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in these forums do not necessarily reflect those of Catholic Answers. For official apologetics resources please visit www.catholic.com.