9th Beatitude?

I've got a question regarding the Beatitudes. Usually you hear that there are 8. However, I'm a religion teacher and the textbook has a 9th beatitude

"Blessed are you when people insult you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you."

This one comes right after the rest.

Is there a wrong answer to this? I had a parent ask why I told them to make flash cards for 9 Beatitudes when she could only find 8.

This seems to fit with what is considered the 8th

"Blessed are they that suffer persecution for justice' sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven."

newadvent.org/cathen/02371a.htm

I agree with you that this one is separate. I think 8 is more about imprisonment or being thrown out of the Temple, stuff like that.

That sounds like it is the 8th. Can you list here all 9 of the “beatitudes” from your textbook, so we can sort the odd one out?

The Catechism has nine, but “My Catholic Faith” book has eight beatitudes; maybe the persecution ones were connected together before and now no?

Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are you when men revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven.

1. The Eight Beatitudes:
    catholicbook.com/AgredaCD/MyCatholicFaith/mcfc046.htm

CCC 1716
vatican.va/archive/ENG0015/__P5I.HTM

amsjj :slight_smile:

+++
Jesus, God and man,
imprisoned by love in Thy most holy Sacrament,
have mercy upon us.

• Blessed John Henry Newman, December 22, 1851

Tú y yo sabemos por la fe que oculto en las especies sacramentales está Cristo,
ese Cristo con su Cuerpo, con su Sangre, con su Alma, y con su Divinidad,
prisonero de amor.

• San Josemaría Escrivá, 1 junio 1974