A Copy write question

Dear friends in Christ,

I’m a trained and certified Marian Catechist with an active internet ministry.

I’m currently in my 4th years of this ministry where I mail a Catholic Faith Lesson once a week. Everything I do is TOTALLY free of all cost.

I’m currently in week 51 of the Catechism of the Catholic Church. I take one or two topics every week cut and cop, AND PASTE THEM them into the lesson. Then give the corresponding bible passages, with a brief explanation.

Recently I was advised by one of the people I mail to that “I’m in Copy Write” . infringement

I checked my hard copy of the CCC and found no copy write info and I’m using an on-lime .
Public domain source.
.scborromeo.org/ccc.htm

Do I have to stop with these CCC internet lessons? I make VERY clear that they are from the CCC.

God Bless you for your assistance

Hi!

I’m not an expert in copyright law, but this might be useful:

copyright.gov/fls/fl102.html

also, I noticed that the website you use has the following disclaimer:

Also, last year I signed up for a similar Email ministry to what you’re doing, and partway through the year I got an email that said:

"Going forward, we will not be allowed to post the official text of the CCC in your email each day on Flocknote. I know on the surface this is a disappointment for many of you. But it gets better, so please keep reading. :slight_smile:

The reasons for this are complex and have to do with copyrights and licensing and our unique use of it. Please believe me when I say we’ve worked very hard on this and it is now out of our hands."

It indeed may be that you are, without meaning to, participating in Copyright infringement. Unfortunately I can’t really give you advice on how to go about obtaining permission to continue you’re use of the text of the Catechism.

Hope this helps a little