A Couple Questions

Hi. I’ve been “around” for years but never posted much. I am a born Protestant who has, for lack of a better way to put this, been all over the theological spectrum. I am also a student of history who has spent many years researching the ancient world and, and first century Judaism, Palestine (Judea), Greece and Rome. I’ve learned, of course, of the many controversies and interpretations of doctrine over the two millennia of the church, as well as the “schisms.” Some things are clear to me, and some are not “fixed” yet in my mind as to the most accurate portrayal of the early church’s position on some hot button issues, mentioned below. Here is where I am right now:

At this point in my life it is obvious to me that the early church was liturgical, apostolic, and had an organization which could variously be described as Catholic and/or Orthodox in outlook. I am very close to contacting a Catholic priest to begin RCIA classes, but I have a couple questions. :confused:

I am also familiar to a great extent with the Orthodox perspective on Mary, filioque, the Creed, and the whole “purgatory/toll houses” comparison thing. I need definitive proof that the Catholic church has the strongest argument on two things: Papal Primacy and Immaculate Conception doctrines. Once these issues are firmly settled in my mind, I will feel I am on firmer ground theologically as to where I go next. I do know that with the knowledge base I have so far, Protestantism is out of the question in the future. :wink: I guess my basic quandary now is to resolve the differences between Catholic and Eastern Orthodox branches of Christianity. The filioque thing is not a big stumbling block to me because I understand there is some “give” there even among Orthodox about how that was traditionally interpreted.