A few questions?

Hello,
I am a freshman in a Catholic High School, and I love learning about the Catholic Faith. I have a lot of the Church Doctrines memorized, and I know every practical rule in the book.
However, I am a sinner. A huge one. I bet I have 10 different kinds of very embarrassing mortal sins on my soul right now. I (somewhat) try to do God’s Will in my life. I pray daily, even if it’s just a few moments.

However, I feel guilty every day about giving in to simple temporal pleasures too much, like watching TV. I think God is asking me to get out of my English class because it’s honors and I am proud in a bad way about that. I have a horrible self-esteem that causes me to want to be better than everyone else at everything, which means I have to idolize academics and sports. I try to find my fulfillment elsewhere other than God in these temporal things. And I have severe anxiety.

My question is: why do the other kids, who ignorantly, I presume, do these things and more, get to receive the Eucharist, sometimes on a daily basis, and I’m the one stuck not taking the Eucharist and going to Confession only to get into a state of mortal sin a week after Confession.

Pax Christi,
SandwichOrder

P.S please pray for me.

The answer, as I’m sure you’ve already surmised, is that you take your religion more seriously than they do. They don’t take the precautions their ideology requires either because they don’t care or because they don’t truly agree with the ideology.

It’s not very surprising, really. Many of my peers declare themselves “Catholic” just to fit in, not because the philosophy itself resonates with them.

Your still young and it’s very good that you are taking your faith seriourly well done, keep it up and never give up. I wouldn’t worry about other poeple and how they live their faith because you cannot control what they do. You can only control youself.