A future with no religion possible?

Someone asked me if I thought the future would be better without religion and I don’t think it is possible to have that sort of a future. I think that as humans its in our nature to be curious. We all have questions that we want answered and we will keep looking for the answers. My opinion is that religion is about questions and finding answers. For example one may want to know what their purpose in life is so they pray and often they reach their conclusion. That’s just one example there are a lot of other (probably less superficial) questions like perhaps Why am I? I find that no amount of science or math can tell us why we are so people look to faith and discover why on their own. I think that as long as we ask those questions religion will never cease to exist.

I am not too experienced when it comes to the world (trust me I am practically a child still) so I would really love to hear other people’s thoughts.

Current thinking in the anthropology of religion says that you are probably right: religion has been around longer than civilisation, possibly longer than farming, and shows no sign of disappearing. Further, its benefits (public schools, universities, hospitals, preservation of knowledge, etc) suggest that its absence would not be good, and the absolute failure of communist states to demonstrate that “no religion too” means “all the people living life in peace” gives us no cause to assume that religious wars are caused by the religions.

So, it most likely will not disappear, and it most likely would not be good for it to do so.

It’s been tried before it. The communists in Russia tried to produce a country with no religion with all their means, including for example through schools promoting atheism, and when communism fell, religion remained. It was tried even harder in Albania, for example. That country also did not become a country with no religion.