A heated debate

Me and my father discuss Catholicism often and it is hard for me to answer his questions/attacks since I am new to the faith myself.

One major thing that I keep getting bombarded with is, “Why the need to be called ‘Catholic’? Why can’t Catholics just call themselves Christians. Are they Catholics first and Christians second?” The question seems ridiculous when you hear it, but all the same I don’t have a good answer for him.

I think he feels that the term some sort of “Elitist” classification and I could definitely see how he would be offended by that.

What could I say to him to alleviate this misunderstanding?

In my opinion…up till Luther, the only Christians were Catholics. So if you said you were Catholic, that meant by definition that you were Christian. And if per chance you said you were Christian, that meant by definition that you were Catholic.

Now we have those who are not Catholic, but still consider themselves Christians, so they are the ones who brought that distinction into the world, and many of them claim that Catholics are not Christians. This is ironic, because those non-Catholic Christians have left a part of the Christian faith behind when they abandoned the Catholic church.

Of course, Catholics are Christians. The original Christians. The ONLY Christians until the 1500’s.

“Catholic” is not meant to be elitist, but the Catholic church does have the fullness of truth, and the other Christian denominations have only a part of it, by their own choice.

Catholic means, “everybody”

so when he says, “Catholics are elitists”, that isn’t true. We include everybody! The Catholic faith includes wealthy people, poor people, smart people, not smart people, etc etc.
I would think the majority of Catholics are just average people.

Christian means, “a believer in Jesus Christ”. A Catholic is a Christian, they are the same, because Catholics believe in Jesus Christ.

Great post,