A New Dilemma/Update

This post is kind of an update to my last, about the girl I met who I found out was an apostate. Many of you have said that it’s not sinful to continue being friends with her, but “Apostates, with all who receive, protect, or befriend them, incur excommunication, reserved speciali modo to the Sovereign Pontiff (Constitution [Apostolicæ Sedis] No.1)”, so I’ve decided that I’m going to stop talking to her.

My new problem is this: We’re both part of an online community for writers to share their stories. She’s been reading my stories and participating in the interactive ones. Because I can’t befriend her, should I leave the forum entirely, or take care to only go on when she’s not online?

Some more information:

I’m a high school student, my friend is nineteen.
I am not a moderator on the forum.
The forum only has around 20 members, but we’re a super active community and we’re all friends.

I’d encourage you to relax a little bit. If you start seeing yourself as a judge of who can and cannot be spoken to by ‘good’ Catholics, then I think you’re probably at some point going to end up banning yourself from talking to yourself.

At least talk to an experienced parish priest before anathematizing individuals.

You’re assuming you can’t be friends with her in the first place. Let’s say your interpretation of these ancient documents is true. I’m a priest. Before I could enter seminary, there was a thorough vetting process, part of which included checking to see if I’d incurred any canonical penalties that could keep me from being ordained. In the course of the application process, I mentioned that I had not only befriended a non-Catholic girl, but had dated her when I was in college. I was still allowed to enter seminary and be ordained. So clearly the way you’re reading this can’t be right.