A New Physics Theory of Life

quantamagazine.org/20140122-a-new-physics-theory-of-life/

Soooooo… this is telling us that everything “science” has taught us about the origins of life until now has been hogwash. What a shock! :wink:

I’m not a scientist but maybe if one posts here they can tell me if this quote is as ridiculous as it sounds:

“You start with a random clump of atoms, and if you shine light on it for long enough, it should not be so surprising that you get a plant,” England said.

Why not try testing this instead of claiming it’s so obvious? Why hasn’t the grand canyon turned into a plant yet? It’s had a lot of light shining on it for a long time. Maybe I’m being too simple?

This is not a “theory”. It is not a hypothesis. It is just speculation and hardly deserves a news story.

Agreed. But so is the primordial soup idea just a theory, and a silly one at that. But it’s been taught in textbooks in high schools. :slight_smile:

From article:

England’s theory is meant to underlie, rather than replace, Darwin’s theory of evolution by natural selection, which provides a powerful description of life at the level of genes and populations. “I am certainly not saying that Darwinian ideas are wrong,” he explained. “On the contrary, I am just saying that from the perspective of the physics, you might call Darwinian evolution a special case of a more general phenomenon.”

So why don’t we have many parallel forms of life with fundamentally different DNA using totally different building blocks?

Instead all life uses the same building blocks from the DNA strand on up. If this was a general phenomenon instead of some unique event, then why is there this basic similarity that seems to suggest ONE point of origin for all life?

The point of the article was to introduce a new idea in physics to a broad audience. I wouldn’t read too much into the quotes about primedial soup becoming a plant, as it is an attempt to illustrate the idea for a layman audience.