A problem for a convert

Hello everyone. I am going through the formal process of converting to the Catholic faith. This conversion includes my immediate family, wife and child. We have been traveling this road for the last 5 or so years. We are all enrolled in RCIA and are committed to complete the course. We have read and studied so much over the last few years that our own library would put most Catholic school libraries to shame. LOL. We are fervent watchers of EWTN and recommend many of its programming.

My background is fundamentalist, 3 generations of preachers. I broke the chain. Needless to say we are absent from any support from family members. They are not Catholic haters but our souls are in question from their viewpoints, everyone is saved with “eternal security” until you disagree with them. I love and respect each of them and will go as far to say that I respect their teachings and I know they serve our living God.

When my wife and I were first married, 15 years ago, we had to come to a compromise of where we would attend church. We tried the fundamental churches and quickly came to realize this was NOT for us. We then joined a United Methodist Church. It is what I would call a “high” church and started our liturgical experience. We were both very active and had our child baptized in this church. As often is true with Protestant churches the minister was relocated. We found ourselves with many others dissatisfied. So many things depend upon the minister and how he invigorates the congregation. We began to look. Many things fell into place for us and we have attended mass for a few years now. We are beginning to feel very comfortable in the Catholic church and with her teachings.