A question about Mary.

Hi everyone, Im not a catholic and I hope that i do not offend anyone here with my question. I m not big on Denomination and do not have anything against anyone’s denomination. I prefer to go directly to GOD through JESUS.

Do people actually pray to the Virgin Mary and why?
the reason for my question is because I notice some,not all people kneeling and praying to the Virgin Mary and as far I could remember and I will not say That Im an expert on the bible that it does not say anywhere in the bible to pray to Mary. is thhis an individual thing?

Thank you.

Welcome.

By your bolded words, you seem to imply that Catholic Christians do not prefer to go directly to God through Christ? Was this your intent?

Depends on what your definition of pray is.

If you are using the older definition of pray which simply means “to ask”, we certainly ask Mary to pray for us.

If you are using the narrowed and more modern definition which defines prayer as something that you use only with God (or a divine being for pagan religions) then the answer in no. We never pray to Mary, we only ask her to pray for us.

Since the saints in heaven are alive in Christ and are not dead, through the body of Christ, we can continue on with what Christians are supposed to do, pray for one another and ask each other for prayer.

Would you consider that they are kneeling in front of a statue, as a reminder and asking her to pray for them? Or do you believe they are worshipping an inanimate object an praying to Mary as a diety?

Since you are not an expert, I will give you some verses that specifically mention how Christians are supposed to pray for one another.

Intercessory Prayer of Saints
Rom 15:30 - join me by your prayers to God on my behalf
Col 4:3, 1Thess 5:25 - pray for us
2Thess 1:11 - we always pray for you
2Thess 3:1 - finally, brothers, pray for us
Eph 6:18-19 - making supplication for all the saints & for me
Tob 12:12 - angel presents Tobit & Sarah’s prayer to God