A simple question about Islam

What are 5 things Catholicism shares in common with Islam?

What are 5 things that are in polar opposition to Islam?

Thanks, I look fwd to your answers.

I’m a student of Islam. I can help

5 Similarities:

• The use of a central body of doctrine to interpret Scripture. Whilst Catholicism has the Catechism and Magisterium to help doctrinal understanding, the Islamic faith has the hadith, which include explanations of Qur’an passages, instructions on Islamic law and other issues, all given by the Prophet Muhammad (saw). OK, it differs slightly in its workings, but both the Magisterum and the hadith have a direct link to their original source (the Catholic Church has apostolic succession, Islam has isnads or chains of transmission).

• Emphasis on works of charity and good deeds. Catholicism has long had a history of charity and works as an example of Christian message, including aiding the sick, helping those with leprosy, giving shelter to travellers, educating children in some of the poorest countries in the world, disaster relief etc. Islam also places emphasis on charity, and in fact zakah (almsgiving) is a compulsory practice of Islam. Islamic charities all around the world also give disaster relief, provide education to the poor, helping the sick etc.

• Emphasis on gender roles. The Church has long been known for its stance on women priests/deacons and the like, and is emphatic on the separate roles of women and men as per the creation of Adam and Eve as two separate beings. Catholicism is also emphatic that man and women have different attributes roles, both spiritually and physically. Islam has something along the same lines, with women barred from being imams (leaders in mosques) but equally having their role as good Muslimahs and as equal members of Islam put forward.