A toddler asked me an odd question

So I'm not really sure what to make of this question a toddler asked me and wanted everyone's thoughts.

I worked as a substitute pre school teacher for a little while. One day one of the little boys, a three year old, was being very difficult. We got everyone sat down for snack time and he kept finding something to get mad about. At first he was mad that his dad hadn't packed him a sandwich, after we convinced him that he actually had, he was mad that it wasn't the kind he wanted, when we made him a new sandwich, he was mad that it wasn't cut the right shape. Periodically, no matter how many times we told him not to, he would yell at us really loud for one reason or another. Finally when I was fed up I took him by the arm and led him into the next room, kneeled down to his level, and held him there while sternly explaining that his behavior was unaccepable. I let him go back in after getting him to acknowledge that he understood what he was doing was not okay.

Later on at story time he started acting up again. The "lead" teacher asked me to read with him seperate from the group. That did the trick and he calmed down once it was just the two of us reading together.

Now, we were looking at a book about different jobs people have and came to the page about teachers. I pointed to a picture of a teacher reading to a bunch of kids and said, "Look, they're having storytime just like us."

He stared at the picture. "Are the being quiet?" he asked.

"Well," I replied, "it looks like they are. It looks like they're sitting and listening quietly."

His next question caught me by surprise. "Do I do that?"

I wasn't sure how to respond and settled for, "Well, sometimes you do."

He looked back down and the book and said, "But sometimes I'm loud."

Why in the world do you think he asked that question?

[quote="apromisemade, post:1, topic:244469"]