Absolution after an affair

My wife had an affair, but the situation is over and they are not together anymore. For some reason they can't see eachother. However, my wife is still in love (as she claims) with him.

Can she get absolution in confession since she is married, but loves another man even though she isn't seeing or communicating with him. If he came back into the picture she would go back with him.

This is a tough question she is dealing with.

I don’t have an answer, but I just want you to know that I"m following you and praying :console:

It is not for you or I to know what passes between her and the priest in confession, but that is where she needs to be.

Anyone can get absolved for anything if their really sorry.

However, and maybe it's just me another problem here is you said your wife would leave you for another dude. I'm no relationship expert, but that's not healthy.

Praying...

I agree with Puzzleannie. I think if she is asking you this question the best answer you can give is that the only way for her to find out is for her to go to confession. In the meantime you both need to go to a Christian/Catholic counselor and work on your marriage and find out what it is that left your marriage open to this - not saying there is an excuse for adultery but usually there are other issues before adultery happens.

She needs to go to Sacramental Confession and discuss this with the priest. Sacramental Confession strengthens one against sin, if one is sincere in repenting.

The bad news is that she has an emotional attachment to this other guy, and needs to find a way to get over that. Time and distance help a lot.

Bottom line is go speak to the priest yourself, and get some help.

[quote="dgeier0725, post:1, topic:243051"]
...If he came back into the picture she would go back with him.

This is a tough question she is dealing with.

[/quote]

"This is a tough question that *SHE** is dealing with*?!?!"