Abstaining from Intercouse While Married

I am pretty new to CAF and I have been learning because I am seriously considering the Catholic Faith. Is abstaing from intercourse in marriage to avoid a child wrong or sinful? Will I be condemned to Hell for it? Because from what I am understanding : No birth control while married for family planning. NFP is acceptable. If I don’t trust it, then I can abstain as long as my spouse agrees. Is this wrong?

The only moral way to avoid getting pregnant is to abstain. NFP allows you to find the times in your cycle when you’re not fertile anyway, so it wouldn’t matter. But you would still have to abstain when fertile. And, as you mentioned, if you don’t trust NFP, the only other option is complete abstinence. So, you’ve got it! :thumbsup:

I would qualify this as right, depending on why you are avoiding children. Avoiding children should be for just/serious reason: financial, health, etc…not just because.

Not to be difficult, but does it really matter why? What are considered sinful reasons to avoid?

So far what I have gotten from Catholics is:

1. Abstain till marriage(most other Christians too)
  2. When a person gets married (the couple is told how to have sex ex:no birth control, must ejaculate in the vagina)
  3. If a married person wishes to be celibate, (they must have a good reason why?)

Am I getting this ok?

You can avoid/space children for a time for a just reason. You can choose to do so by abstaining through periodic continence or total abstinence.

I think, though, that you **completely **underestimate the role of sexual intimacy in a marriage. You seem to have a very nonchalant attitude in this area, and you should not. Total abstinence for an extended period of time requires heroic virtue. The normal course of marriage includes sexual intimacy.

And, any sort of abstinence must be my **mutual **consent. So, if you wife were to want relations, it is your duty not to refuse and vice versa.