abusive marriage

I've been in an abusive marriage for sometime. Priest sent me to a secular counselor that encouraged me to leave. I stopped counseling because I thought I was suppose to stay no matter what. It can go months without abuse and then WHAM! What does the church say on this? there is not a third party, i'm just tired of being abused.:(

[quote="cloudymay, post:1, topic:312313"]
I've been in an abusive marriage for sometime. Priest sent me to a secular counselor that encouraged me to leave. I stopped counseling because I thought I was suppose to stay no matter what. It can go months without abuse and then WHAM! What does the church say on this? there is not a third party, i'm just tired of being abused.:(

[/quote]

I am no expert on the Church teachings on separation/divorce, but I am certain that it does not teach you have to stay in an abusive marriage!!

You can remove yourself from a dangerous and unhealthy situation without compromising your vows. You may move out and be safe. Making this move may be the very thing that forces your husband to take a look at himself and get some help. "If nothing changes, nothing changes."

You can let him know that his behavior is not acceptable, that he is not honoring "his" vow to love and cherish you and you will be helping him to honor his commitment by not allowing it.

In the meantime, you will need to be emotionally rehabilitated by seeking some counsel. The very fact that you have put up with such brutality is a sign that you may be lacking in healthy "self-love." Counselling will help you to know how to love yourself properly. When you changes your standards of what you will accept from your husband, he will have to learn a new way of relating to you.

Trust in God.

A priest once told me in confession, "Often when we do was is best/right for ourselves, it is also what is best/right for the "other." Be at peace, God is with you and working through you.

[/quote]

For discerning you need to: