Academic Reqs for Priesthood?

Good afternoon everyone! Very quick background on me: I have a Bachelor's degree in Micro/Molecular Biology and work in research. I am now in the RCIA in my local parish after feeling moved to join the Church after years as an atheist. I'm just gathering information, but here are a few questions I would love some insight on:

Theoretically if down the line I wanted to pursue a career in the Church (such as joining the priesthood) what is required to do so?

I have searched for information and I see that there is a Master's program by me for Pastoral Studies, is this a pre-req to join a seminary?

Also, are you required to have an undergraduate degree to pursue a graduate degree in theology or enter the seminary?

Thank you so much for any information you can provide, but I have truly been overwhelmed with my new faith in the God, and I can't even express my joy at having the opportunity to soon be baptized and confirmed as a member of the Church.

-ThirdGen

Hello,

I too am discerning the priesthood and i am going through the interview process to get accepted, however i am a senior in high school.

To enter a major seminary you will need at least 30 units of Philosophy and be free of debt. You being a Convert you might have to wait a couple of years because that is usually the norm for a diocese.

Contact the Vocation Director for more info:thumbsup: