Acts 2:4? - When was Blessed Mother Mary filled with the Holy Spirit?

Hi,

A Protestant friend of mine said ALL were filled with the Holy Spirit suggestion Mary was as well…I believe the following verse is specifically talking about the Apostles, or am I wrong? And when was Mary filled with the Holy Spirit, was it during her immaculate conception?

And they were all filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak in other tongues, as the Spirit gave them utterance. - Acts 2:4

God Bless You,
Brian

Mary was filled with the Holy Spirit from her Immaculate Conception. Remember the words of the Angel Gabriel? Hail Mary, FULL OF GRACE!

I hope that the Protestant friend reads John 6 word-for-word as literally as he does Acts 2.

-Tim-

I searched and found this text of a papal audience in 1989. I’m no theological expert, but something in me likes the idea of a “new fullness.”

“Mary’s Presence in the Upper Room at Jerusalem” (General Audience, June 26, 1989)

Moreover, according to the same Luke, “they were all filled with the Holy Spirit” in the upper room in Jerusalem on the day of Pentecost (Acts 2:4). Therefore she also who “was found to be with child of the Holy Spirit” (cf. Mt 1:18) received at Pentecost a new fullness of the Holy Spirit. From that day onward her pilgrimage of faith, charity and perfect union with Christ was linked with the Church’s own pilgrim journey.

I hope the reader does not confuse this fullness and misunderstand that Mary was indeed full of grace from the moment of her conception.

I think it would be a mistake to assume that every time the Bible says someone was filled with the Holy Spirit or received the Holy Spirit or it says that the Holy Spirit came upon someone that that necessarily means the person received every possible gift of the Holy Spirit and that those gifts were all of an enduring nature.