Adoration Question - Newbie Here

So I signed up for Adoration for the first time after coming home. They were looking for people to each sign up for one hour to be with our Lord in the Sacrament.

My question is this - is this prayer only time, or is some scripture reading allowed? I’ll try to contact the priest, but it can be hit an miss, and today is the day.

Thanks!

1 Like

You may pray any way you wish to: private prayers, rosary, your own private thoughts, or just sit and look at the Blessed Sacrament in a loving way.

Scripture reading is good, especially if done in a thoughtful way.

Some wish to take in a notebook and write down the thoughts that come to them during that time.

It is required that silence be kept so that others are undisturbed.

A double genuflection should be done when entering the pew and exiting.

Saying the rosary while pondering the mysteries for 15 minutes has a full pardon indulgence attached if the usual conditions are met.

It is one of the best hours you will spend in your week.

Silent contemplation, prayer, scripture reading, devotional reading, etc… all allowed. The point is to spend time with Jesus, so ideally what you do should aid that in some way.

Thanks! It’s listed as Adoration and Benediction if that matters.

“Benediction” generally refers to the short ceremony/ prayer service performed by the priest before the attendees in connection with the exposition of the Host. So if your adoration hour happens to coincide with a scheduled benediction time, then you can participate in that. The directions for the congregation to participate in Benediction are usually in the missalette.

It can be very fulfilling. Enjoy your time with the Lord!

Yes and yes. :wink:

Reading Scripture is prayer. It’s actually a very important component of prayer. Prayer is a dialogue. Reading Scripture is how we most often hear God’s side of the conversation. :slight_smile:

Prayers are ascending for you.