Adoration

I was at adoration today and I was the only person there in the chapel. The tabernacle that stores the monstrance has a veil that covers it. I’m new to Catholicsm and I want to know is it ok to pull the veil back while I’m there and then pull it back to after I leave because I would love to see Jesus in the host. Thanks and God Bless

I would have to say “No, it’s not.”. Only a person who has been authorized by the priest can do something like this, I think. That is how it was at the Church I attend for Eucharistic Adoration.

The Tabernacle is the Holy of Holy’s. Be content simply to be in his presence during times like this. Actually seeing Jesus hidden in the Blessed Sacrament is not essential to you reaping all the Graces for visiting Him.

Our Lord is very happy, I’m sure, for your visit, however!:slight_smile:

Hi catholic111,

I think that it’s great that you are going to Adoration. :slight_smile:

I agree with Jamal’s post.

I would not do anything to the Tabernacle while you are there, although I understand that you are curious about it.

Okay thanks! I will just leave it alone and enjoy my time with Jesus!

No, that should not be done. There are specific rules and practices to be observed at adoration especially if there is to be exposition of the Blessed Sacrament.

But please continue to be in His presence.

Note that in some churches there is an alarm protecting the Tabernacle. It is probably best to remain a couple of feet from it to avoid embarrassment. :wink:

Yes, there are security cameras at ours.:thumbsup:

Catholics should remember that Jesus is there, whether it is in a monstrance (covered or not) or in the tabernacle. There are exceptions, but the rule is that when the Blessed Sacrament is present, there is supposed to be a vigil candle burning.

Theologically, Jesus is there. There is no reason to doubt.