Advice on anime

Hello,

I am new to CAF I usually just browse the threads, but I have a question concerning an anime series and I need some advice. I have some friends who really like the show naruto and have been telling me to watch it for awhile, however I have not found any Christian/Catholic reviews of it, and I have heard rumors that it is not very good from a Catholic perspective. So I was wondering if anyone has seen it or heard anything about it and what age it would be appropriate for. Thank you!!!

LiB

Eh, Naruto is just a "magical" type of anime. It's okay, but it tends to drag on and on indefinitely and it more annoying than anything, in my opinion. I'm rather picky, as far as that goes, with anime.

I would not suggest it for some catholic kids because of the themes (ex. naruto has a demon sealed inside him, which is where he gets his power). It's okay for entertainment value, but not for teaching Christian values. I consider it just a fictional mythology type story and it's portrayed as a legend.

As long as you don't come out believing that you have actual magical powers and housing demons in your own body is beneficial, you're fine. :thumbsup:

It’s hard to do Christian reviews of anime, since it comes from a country that is not Christian at all. I don’t like Naruto, but for older kids, it’s be ok I suppose. The fantasy elements are all very well removed from actual practices.

But it’s just,boooooring

[quote="shondrea, post:3, topic:190786"]
It's hard to do Christian reviews of anime, since it comes from a country that is not Christian at all. I don't like Naruto, but for older kids, it's be ok I suppose. The fantasy elements are all very well removed from actual practices.

But it's just,,,,boooooring

[/quote]

I have a friend that was born and raised in Japan who is Catholic and knows MANY Japanese Catholics. So to say the country isn't Christian at all is wrong:rolleyes: