Adviced about using LinkedIn for career search

I joined the website “LinkedIn” soon after I graduated college a year ago, and I’m still not sure what to do with it. Does anyone have any stories to share about how they used it to network, find employment, help mentor those new to the working world. Thanks!

:(…

I don’t have any great info for you, but since no one else responded, I’ll give you what limited useful information I have.

One of the tips I’ve heard many people mention is getting involved in groups. That is a good way to get known and make yourself useful among other people in your field. For example, I am interested in Health Care Law, so I have joined groups for that section of my State Bar Association, as well as groups dedicated to that topic hosted by the local law schools. I try to post things that will be of interest to other practitioners, as well as answer questions when people post them. As of yet, I’ve had limited success there, but I often see that noted as a key way to use LinkedIn successfully.

Here are two things that have personally struck me as useful about the connectivity of LinkedIn:

1. You can see where your contacts work and changes in their work status. For example, when I am interested in a particular company, I can go to my contacts and see if I know anyone who works there. Also, just last week, I got an e-mail from LinkedIn listing my contacts’ employment changes. I was totally shocked to see an old co-worker of mine, who I’ve barely spoken to in 7 years, started working at my company! We’ve since reconnected, of course.