Age for Dating?

Hi Everyone!

I just wanted to know what you all think: what age is it okay to start dating at?

That depends, for myself or my future kids? :smiley:

I graduated from high school at 17 and didn’t turn 18 until after my first semester of college. I went on my first date at 19…

I think after high school is the time to look for a spouse…I met my husband while I was a senior in college and ended up marrying when I was 22 after a year out of college.

The right age for dating is based somewhat on whether or not college is in the plans. If you’re like me, I wanted to get married after college, but not during, so being allowed to date at 18 worked perfectly.

I voted 18. :thumbsup:

Now if I have kids, that’s not to say I wouldn’t let them go to prom with someone or go with a group to the movies or something…but I’d try to discourage exclusive relationships until they would be 18.

I have a 16 year old son. We always told him he could not date until he was 16. He had friends who were allowed to date at age 14. We would only allow the big group of friends gathering. Some of his friends in this group were “paired up” as “couples” though. He never was. He had girls calling him, asking him to go here and go there, and he would then call others so it was always a group thing. The girls got frustrated with this. He found it funny.

He has been allowed to date for 6 months now. He has not done so (and it is not for lack of interested girls). He says he does not have time and that he is too young for the “drama” his friends go through (several of his friends have “steadies” and are always calling him to either 1)cry if they are girls or 2) complain if they are guys.

He says he will wait until after high school! (yippee!!):smiley: