Age of the earth

There are some who believe that the earth is about 5,000 yrs old others that it’s about 4.5 billion yrs old. I know what Genisis says and I believe that the Bible should not be taken totally literally and I am trying to find the offical view of the Vatican on this issuie but have been unable to ascertain it, can anyone help me? I am a historian and an amateur Astronomy and to me science is the tool of God. thank you

You are free to believe whatver you want about the age of the earth. I’m Catholic and believe it is about 4.5 billion years old. This does not contradict any Church teaching.
However, you have to believe that God created the universe out of nothing.

thanks for the reply can you direct me to a place that tell us that it does not contradict church teaching and how does it since in Genisis it says the earth was created in 7 days. thanks

That is about the crux of it all.

Personally I am open to the 'less-than-10,00-years" possibility. I think God can create, say, the Grand Canyon, in a state that looks to be a million years old, if He wants to.

Same with dino the D. They could have watched Noah build the ark, and died laughing at the time.

smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/15/15_3_32.gif
(sure wish he had smacked those two misquitos) smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/15/15_8_212.gif

%between%

forums.catholic.com/showthread.php?t=36861&highlight=young+earth

Here in the Philippines its almost 7am so I am off to work and don’t have time to look up the references.
However, on a quick note the Church does NOT have a teaching that says you must believe the earth is 6000 years old so by definition there is nothing to contradict.

I’m not sure of a specific source at the moment I can send you to. I can say that I have a copy of the New Jerusalem Bible, and in its appendix it has a timetable to place historical events along side biblical events.