AHH! another vent/parent issue!

Heylo!!..

well.. I have another big issue happening in my life at the moment. So, im sorry, if this comes out as being a partial vent.

Well, for those of you who dont no me, im a first year uni student. So im 19. and for the sake of the story - my family and I are pretty strong in our faith. But.. moving on. This year, has been a big stepping stone for me. Since, iv had to get out of being spoon fed and become more independent - i.e. with getting myself to uni (which is 1.5hrs from home by bus&train) in contrast to High skool (where i got dropped off and my hs was only 5mins from my place). umm... and other examples including, iv tried to become less dependent on my parents in terms of transport and also on the emotional level (as in, less venting to them about issues and assigns..)mmm.. however, the real problem is.

That they still treat me like a child.

One typical example is that they dont let me go out with my uni friends to a pub or a night club in the evenings (btw - i dont plan on getting drunk or laid or any of that..). However, these friends that i go with are very trustworthy. As in, none of them do drugs, smoke or get drunk. I've introduced them to my family, but my mother will only let me go out with them, if she knows their mother or my friends extremely well.

but the think that really ticks me off, is that, when my eldest brother was my age - he was allowed to do whatever he pleased, regardless if my mother knew his friends or not. So, in contrast to him, my other older brother and me are not treated in the same way. We are I guess, seen as the 'irresponisble' children in the family and this is due to - a) me, being the messsy child i.e. messy room & lack of helping out wif chores b) my other brother being the one that struggles at getting good grades in uni.