Alcohol and Moderation

Hello friends, I am new here so please forgive me if this isn’t the right place to post.

I really like beer. It’s a wonderful gift of God and a great way to celebrate with friends and get a bit merry. Of course it has potential for abuse, so it’s important to be careful. I’m right now starting to think more seriously about responsible drinking.

Back in college, I was the president of a hard-partying fraternity that spent a great amount of time completely trashed. I remember it wasn’t at all uncommon to ditch classes on a Tuesday or Wednesday afternoon to get drunk at the house. When I graduated a year ago I came to Asia with very much the same mindset, but in the last several months I realized how immature this was, and am trying to be more moderate.

I thought I’d come to other Catholic beerheads for advice: what are some good rules of thumb for responsible Catholic drinking?

For example, I was out for beers the last night for a friend’s birthday and found myself quite jolly on the walk home. I woke up this morning with a throb in my head that went away after a bath. Is this too much, or was I right in stopping when I did?

I like to have one glass of wine with my dinner, but I am careful not to have more than this. I think if you feel unwell the next day, you’ve definitely had too much!

The experts say we shouldn’t drink every day, so I think it’s best if we have a few alcohol-free days every week and then enjoy the beer/wine on the days we have alcohol - drink to enjoy, rather than drink to get merry or drunk.

It’s obviously always inadvisable to drink to the point where you lose your inhibitions, get sick or become argumentative. That puts both you and others at risk and is not (IMO) how Christians should responsibly use alcohol.