All hope seems lost

The title here seems melodramatic but I assure you I am at the end of my rope.

Things are horrible right now. I am a physician, (well technically, although it seems I am of no use to anyone right now) and I have been with out work for 6 months. My wife and I have an 8 month old son and we are having to survive on my wives salary (that of a teacher).

This nightmare all began last October when I was in a pathology residency, which by all accounts has multiple deep seeded issues. I made a comment about our program director who consistently makes disparaging statements about us residents without having proof or the experience to back them up (a true statement which I stand by). Things like “you don’t work hard enough, and all you guys do is complain, and it only gets harder in the private world” are tough to take. Especially when they are all false. Needless to say many of us became very alienated due to these comments. Regardless I was the stupid one to open my mouth and instead of a slap on the wrist I got the guillotine.

So after this happened I was told that my year to year contract would not be renewed and I would be out of a residency position June 30th of this year. I continued in this horrible situation until May 22 of this year. At that time I was offered a position doing some assistant work with a local pathologist, however I only found out later that I had to obtain additional licensing before I could start. On top of that the red tape had made so I might still begin working there but I have not begun thus far.