Am I violating the 5th Commandment?

I am a registered nurse working on a dementia unit. Fairly often, I take care of the dying on Hospice. The standard protocol to keep someone comfortable is giving them morphine. Morphine, while a painkiller, helps relax an individual who is suffering and make them comfortable while they are dying. It also suppresses the respiratory system.

Quite often, I have given morphine to someone who’s death is imminent. Several minutes after the morphine has taken effect, the person relaxes, stops breathing and passes away.

So here’s my dilemma. I know the reason for the morphine is to ease their suffering and take away their pain, but am I also killing them? I know that they’re dying already, and no one should have to suffer in their death, I just feel like in a way I’m commiting euthanasia, which I know is against the Church’s teaching. Am I just overthinking this?

the church allows morphine for easing of pain, as i understand it. but you should seek counsel from someone literate on the subject in the context you present it. i would rely on opinion. i have heard a doctor on catholic answers with pat coffin, who is an expert in catholic medicine. perhaps you can find out who it is and get some literature. you are doing God’s work, God bless you!

Does the morphine kill them or hasten their death? If so, yes you are violating the 5th commandment. If not, no you are not. There is nothing wrong with taking away the pain of someone who is dying, but there is something wrong with causing their death (even if they are dying anyways). For example, if someone is lying on the side of the road suffering and obviously dying, I can’t morally pull out a revolver and “end their suffering.” However, I could pull out a flask of whiskey and ease their suffer as they die. It all depends on whether giving the morphine ends the person’s life or not.