An Introduction and an Invitation

Hello,

I am a student at the University of Notre Dame and a fan of Catholics everywhere. I have many Catholic friends and I attend mass on a regular basis and find it very uplifting and beneficial. The oddity most people find in this is that I am an active member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons, by nickname).

Despite our membership differences, my Catholic friends and I enjoy a profitable association and uplifting discussion of our mutual faith and trust in the Gospel of Jesus Christ. We benefit not only from our agreement but also from discussion of the principles on which our differences are founded. It is often in discussing our differences that we come to a better mutual understanding of the truths of the Gospel and an appreciation for our common understanding and eternal goals.

In the spirit of that mutual benefit, my most esteemed and well versed Catholic associate has encouraged me to post a thread on this website to answer questions regarding the LDS faith and its relation to Catholic doctrine. While I am no LDS scholar, I am reasonably well versed in LDS doctrine and am qualified to discuss items generally. I do not speak on behalf of the Church officially. However, I am an active member in good standing and have years of Church study, teaching, and leadership experience. I believe in open and honest dialog and am happy to answer any questions that I can.

While I wish to answer every question as completely as possible, please understand that time is a factor and I may not be able to answer every question with the length and depth that I would like to. Also, I will not waste valuable time entertaining bloggers who are just looking for a fight. This post is meant to invite questions and progressive discussion, not pointless debate and argument. I appreciate your cooperation in this manner.