An open question for Lutherans

What would it take for you to re-unite with the Catholic Church?

Would you need to see a move from Rome first?

What specific doctrines or dogmas do you see as impediments?

Are they the ‘big 3’? Of Marian doctrines, papal infallibility and Transubstantiation?

Are there others?

I am a amateur lay person who seeks unity among all Christians, and there is much unity among our faiths…and those in power have made attempts at reconciliation in the recent past, but fell short of making it happen…what would a lay Catholic and a lay Lutheran do to push towards greater unity?

The Church has, over the years, actually responded to and changed many of Luther’s 95. The Church ‘saw the Light’ so to speak (albeit too late to bring Luther back. They snubbed him pretty badly) and adopted many changes he was clamoring to see.

I am sincerely asking. What can a Catholic and a Luther do to bring our Churches together as one flock under one Shepherd?

I realize full well that neither of us want to ‘give up’ our faiths, so I know the answer isn’t a simple one, but I am compelled to seek ways to bring this about.

Peace in Christ

…awaiting answers from our Lutheran friends.
Mary.

There’s not a whole lot left dividing Lutherans from Catholics per Dialogue.

=Hawkiz;12259120]What would it take for you to re-unite with the Catholic Church?

One or more of the following:

1. Corporate reconciliation between our communions. That is the model promoted since Vat II by popes.
  2. An official acceptance of the Augsburg Confession by Rome as a truly Catholic confession of the faith.
  3. Reconciliation and full communion between the CC and Eastern Orthodoxy, simply because it would be an undeniable and irresistible movement of the Spirit within His Church,

What specific doctrines or dogmas do you see as impediments?

Are they the ‘big 3’? Of Marian doctrines, papal infallibility and Transubstantiation?

Are there others?