angel of the Lord

Is the angel of the Lord the Son of God or Jesus before the incarnation?

I would say no, but I’m no expert.

Wasn’t the angel of the Lord simply an Angel?

Hi,
Are you referring to a particular Scripture? There are places in the bible where Jesus appeared before he came as man and then there are places where angels appeared.

Apart from one notable instance, in Zechariah 1:12, the angel of the Lord seems to be very much a functionary spirit, speaking in the first person as God’s mouthpiece, but otherwise demonstrating no independent will. I think that it is just a regular angel, designated at one moment as the Angel of the Lord when it is called upon to act as God’s mouthpiece.

Note also that the title “Son of Man”, which Jesus frequently employed, comes from in 1 Enoch, in which it is used to differentiate the Messiah from the angels: child of flesh versus spirit of spirit. That argues against the Messiah being one of them.

I will PM Valke2, however, to see if we can get a Jewish reading on it.

Hi. Regarding Zechariah 1:12, I think your anaylsis is correct. It is just the phrase used to describe the angel that happens to be speaking in Hashem’s name. Jews do not ascribe any special significance to the term as it is used in Zechariah.

I have read a few ECF’s where they saw the OT Angel representing/prefiguring Jesus.
One that comes to mind is a St Augustine commentary I randomly came over a few months ago On Psalm 34 paragraph 10b:
newadvent.org/fathers/1801034.htm
(also check out paragraph 11, very cool)

Thanks.

Does that also apply to other appearances in the Scriptures? Is there anything special about the designation?

Ok. I see I might have misread the references to Zecharia. But there is nothing that suggests (to jews) that the reference is to any special angel. In the Jewish scriptures, angels are considered to be messengers. Every angel has one specific mission.