Another food budget thread

Does anyone care to share a week’s menu and give their budget for that menu?

I’m a lousy cook, but I need to figure something out because our grocery bills are getting way out of control!!

Actually, I’m not very good at grocery shopping either. I’m not sure why God made me a girl since I’m so bad at this stuff. But, I’ll keep trying. :slight_smile:

We don’t do a week menu, we do more of what was on sale that week at the store and work around that :slight_smile:

All Recipes has a GREAT budget section

allrecipes.com/HowTo/Cooking-on-a-Budget/Detail.aspx

I also love my Taste of Home Budget Cooking cookbook.

My husband and I recently started getting menus and shopping lists from e-mealz. You can easily get to the site by googling e-mealz.

We love it for a few reasons. Your weekly menu is available on the same day each week with a really well organized shopping list. The company has several menu options: kroger, wal-mart, low fat, low carb, publix, etc. You choose the menu that is best for you. Also, they develop each menu around what is on sale that week in that particular store. At the bottom of the shopping list you will see an approximate total, so you know about how much money you’ll spend.

The only thing we’re not 100% thrilled with is that the menu is only for dinners. So, you have to add some additional cost to the approximate to cover what you would need for breakfast and lunches, milk, coffee, etc.

The meals are easy to prepare, usually require few ingredients, are large portions, and there is always a great variety each week. There are usually one to two ‘easy meals’ a ‘crock–pot’ meal, etc.
The meals are great and my husband thinks I’m a great cook :slight_smile: Just an added benefit!

Just a suggestion! The ready made menu, recipes and shopping list were too great for us to pass up! The cost is $1.25/wk that is billed as 3mo/$15.

Hope you find something that works for you!

:rotfl: