Any Anglicans here?

Are there any Anglicans who hang out here? I have a few questions regarding the whole Anglican communion and the various beliefs that are found in different diocese (or so it seems). I have some family who are (or rather, who were) involved in the ACNA. Is there a big schism brewing in the Anglican Communion?

For years.

I got a hurricane to wrestle, but I’ve been doing Anglicanism online for 20 years, give or take a fortnight.

Yep. There is a split between conservative Anglicans (a broad category that could include anything from Anglo-Catholic to hardcore Calvinists and everything in between, even happy clappy evangelical types) and the liberal Anglicans (again could be anything from Affirming Catholics to broad churchmanship to Open Evangelical). The most recent point of division has been over the church’s response to homosexual persons. Should their same-sex attraction be affirmed by the church as a positive aspect of who they are?

There are provinces (member churches of the Anglican Communion) that tend to be more liberal (the US Episcopal Church for example) and those that tend to be more conservative (the Anglican Church in Rwanda). In recent years, conservatives in America and Canada begged for Anglican churches in Africa, South America and Asia to essentially rescue them. Parishes and in some cases entire dioceses voted to withdraw from the Episcopal Church and Anglican Church in Canada and submit to traditional bishops in other parts of the world.

Church authorities in the US and Canada accused the overseas provinces of interfering in their national churches, and the overseas provinces accused the US and Canadians of infidelity and heresy. Both sides appealed to the larger Anglican Communion to restore order, but the Communion has been paralyzed.