Any Classical Music Fans Out There?

Hi everyone,

Just wanted to see if there were any classical music fans out there. I’m a pretty big entuastist of it myself. My favorites are Mozart, Gershwin, Tchaikovsky, Debussy, and Beethoven.

Who do/don’t you like?

-Jeanne

I’m not too much of a man, and most of my interest probably stems from Nodame Cantabile, but I would say I like Brahms, Tchaikovsky, and Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue.

Gershwin’s Rhaspody in Blue is amazing.

-Jeanne

I’m also a fan of classical music. Actually, I like all form of music. I’m a hobbyist composer. So, I like to listen and study many of classical and modern film composers for cues and composition techniques. I write mostly orchestral film score and occasionally dance music. I also arrange music for church choir.

Here are my favorite composers: Beethoven and other romantic composers, all modern Russian composers, Mahler, Rachmaninoff, etc.

Film composers: any who writes big score for big epic.

Trailer: Immediate Music and X-ray Dog

Misc: Es Posthumus

That’s cool. I’m more of a music entuastist, even though I do play a little bit.

I’m not much of a Beethoven fan. I’m starting to like him more, but I guess I’ve always been more of a Mozart person. I do love his Eroica Symphony, though. So fantastic.

-Jeanne

I like J.S. Bach, but I think his pieces have a very strong beat and are best for things like housecleaning, exercise, etc. But they’re so much fun to play on the piano!

I like Ravel (Impressionistic).

Berlioz (French Impressionistic)

Bartok and Stravinsky. (Classical 20th Century)

And Copland. Oh, I love Aaron Copland’s music! If there were an accompaniment for my life, this music would be it.

I tend to like some of the more modern “classical” composers, rather than composers like Mozart and Beethoven, although I certainly like Mozart and Beethoven. But I like the dissonance in the more modern composers’ works. It seems more reflective of 20th Century life and culture.