Any DRE's out there? Questions

I am currently a middle school teacher but am applying for a DRE position at a local parish – I meet most of the criteria. :thumbsup: I sent the pastor a letter introducing myself and was up front about not having DRE experience (but did mention how teaching experience might translate and be applicable). I’m told the pastor cares a lot about being a faithful Catholic and wanting to transmit the faith.

Any suggestions for questions to ask at my interview?

Here's my two cents:

1. Do you have an organization chart of the parish showing where the DRE position fits? Who is in charge of the staff?

2. To whom does the DRE report? If not the pastor, why not?

3. Do parish staff members participate in projects other that those in their primary area? Who determines this? To whom do they report for these special projects?

4. Are there yearly evaluations with measurements against specific objectives that are agreed to by manager and staff beforehand?

5. Are there expectations about which Masses I attend or how I participate in Mass? Do you expect me to be an EMHC? What are the expectations of weekend work? How many hours did the last DRE put in a week?

6. Why is the current DRE leaving?

[quote="PaulinVA, post:2, topic:243362"]
Here's my two cents: Thanks!

1. Do you have an organization chart of the parish showing where the DRE position fits? Who is in charge of the staff? Job description says DRE supervises staff and volunteers assisting w/ religious ed projects

2. To whom does the DRE report? If not the pastor, why not? Job description says DRE is under the direction of the pastor

3. Do parish staff members participate in projects other that those in their primary area? Who determines this? To whom do they report for these special projects? Good question

4. Are there yearly evaluations with measurements against specific objectives that are agreed to by manager and staff beforehand? Also good to know