Any jazz fans here?

I’m a fan of the old stuff (Ellington, Basie, Reinhardt) and the relatively new (Holland, Pass, Pastorius, McLaughlin). I play bass myself but not professionally.

I listen to music of all kinds but jazz is my passion. I can’t list all of my favorites but Joe Pass, Kenny Burrell, Wes Montgomery, Jim Hall, Herb Ellis, Tal Farlow, Barney Kessel, Mimi Fox, and Gabor Szabo are high on my play list. You can probably guess that guitar is my ax. I have been working on jazz guitar for about two years and am good enough to impress my family since they don’t know a thing about jazz.

Singers I like include Ann Hampton Calloway, Annie Ross, Diane Krall, Tierney Sutton, Dianne Schuur and of course Ella.

Joe Pass is quite magnificent. There’s several videos of him performing with NHOP on YouTube.

I was born and raised in New Orleans. I like Dixieland but I grew up hearing my grandmother play ragtime on the parlor piano. And prior to that was Louis M. Gottschalk - the roots of jazz. The jazz I know is the jazz of the brass bands of New Orleans.

That being said, the Marsallis family attended the same Catholic Church I did back in the 60s. I like the old jazz musicians. My grandmother’s house in the Irish Channel was right around the corner from the bar at which Pete Fountain and Al Hirt started their march on Mardi Gras day.

Joe Pass is quite magnificent!? This is faint praise indeed! I don’t see how any mere human can play like he can.

Could you recommend some big-band stuff, like Steve Spiegl and Count Basie?

If God wasn’t God, Miles would be. :heaven:

Unusually for somebody with - I joke not - hundreds of Jazz albums covering the whole spectrum, I’m female! Fortunately, my husband is a fan, too, wouldn’t have married him otherwise.

Try the Buddy Rich big band CD The New One, It is more contemporary that the great classic bands.

Mercer Elllington (Duke’s son) Digital Duke