Any other Stay At Home Moms get this?

This is sort of a rant--just warning you all. I'm wondering how many other SAHMs run across this.

I'm one of those SAHMs who has a college degree. I went through the whole thing, even though I never planned on actually using the degree I've earned. My first desire has always been to be a mother. But I got the degree so that I would have something to fall back on, in the event that my husband is ever not able to work.

Anyways, whenever I mention to people that I'm a SAHM, and that I have a degree, people are always like, "And you're not *using *it?!" I expect it from most people, but just yesterday I got this reaction from someone who I didn't expect it from. He and his wife are Catholic with four kids themselves, and usually quite supportive of staying home with the kids. But he could not believe that I would have "wasted" all that money to go to a private university and get this really great degree when I had no plans of using it. I felt like yelling, "SAHMs can get educated, too!" lol. Does that happen to anyone else?

Yes. Even worse, people kept trying to tell me that I could always go to community college! (I already have a degree from a fine university) The implication was always that the only possible reason for being a SAHM was that you were not smart enough to do anything else.

yes, I get the thing about going to community college as well! Or they ask, “why didn’t you just go to a state school?”

It’s like people think SAHMs are just “taking up space” by going to good universities to get our degrees.

Actually, I've not had a paying job since I became a mom. I have a degree, I did work after graduation until I was married, and then until I had kids.

At some point after all 3 are in school (and if no other little people show up ;)) I'll go back to work, possibly part-time.

But no one has been critical, some have been "envious" as in, " I wish I could stay home," Or you're so lucky to be home"