Any plans what t give up for lent?

I am just curious if anyone knows what they plan to give up (or take on) for lent?
I plan to give up Pepsi (all pop really). I drink alot of it, close to 2 litres a day. I have tried to quit before, but I am addicted. I know that God will give me the will to stop cold turkey. I have been drinking Pepsi for about 20 years now and the longest I have gone without it is maybe a week. (I probably owns shares by now). When I am done with lent, I don’t plan to start drinking it again.

What about children? I have just started to talk to them about it. This will be their first time (7-8-15) so I want it to be something fairly easy so they don’t feel like they have failed. They don’t eat desert or eat junk food (suprising considering my Pepsi addiction). What about making their bed EVERY day?

I’m not sure, I am just looking for ideas.

Tara

Politics: Political radio, the political forum here, my political posts on Facebook, other peoples’ political posts on Facebook, and political conversations (that, I’m afraid will be the most difficult for me).:o

I know my mother liked to encourage doing things as well as giving up something, like candy, TV ( the one show we were allowed to watch), etc. She also did something that really helped us focus on the spirit of Lent and thinking about it…she bought a bag of hard beans, painted them purple, and every time we did something sacrificial, ( doing the dishes with out being asked, not fighting over a toy, etc.) we got to put a Lenten bean in the jar, on Easter morning it turned into a jar of Jelly beans! :bounce: We always tried to fill the jar full every year…:slight_smile:

One year I tried giving up breathing. I'll never do that again!