Anyone ever hosted a foreign exchange student?

We are planning on hosting a foreign exchange student this January. First we have to see if the school district we live in will accept this (prayers requested). If that works out he will be here in a few months and stay until June.
Has anyone else ever done this? While we are all excited, part of me is nervous. We are not a well off family, live in a simple house (that could use some work), and have other children. I am sort of afraid we may not be what they were expecting. Add that to the fact that my husband works out of state, so I am basically a single mom 95% of the time (I don’t work, I am a student with a flexible schedule) and now I am nervous. I know they say that the kids just want to be part of an American family, but I worry that the child may be bored out here in the boonies.
So anyone who has any experience, advice would be helpful.
Thanks in advance.

mommamia.
I have never hosted an exchagestudent but I have been an exhangestudent myself.
As an immature 17 year old I went to a country far away for one year… I lived with three different host families.
I’ll give you some personal ideas. What was most important to me… I guess is the same as for every teenager: to be understood and respected … I appreciated those hosts that were like friends to me and loathed the ones that were authoritarian (where I come from young people are very autonomous and given much freedom and space). Typically teenager I guess… :slight_smile: the practical side of it: I lived with both poor people and some of the richest folkes in the city and it had no impact on my happiness… the people is what matters. Also I thought it most wonderful when there were other kids in the home… but the most important figures… was the host mom and the friends at school:)
I hope everything will go well for you… just make the kid feel welcome and talk with him…
Jesus bless you :slight_smile:
That was my experience.