Anyone from Dio of Rochester (NY)?

Hubby is finishing up a fellowship and has a job offer from Strong Hospital in Rochester. We both attended U of R and have some friends in the area, so we are somewhat familiar with it, but our needs have obviously changed from when we were single college students to a married couple with 4 young children. It would not be my first choice of places to move to, but the hospital REALLY wants my husband, and the dept seems very family friendly, as would his job (as family friendly as a physician’s job can be).

One of my major issues is the diocese. It is not known to be one of the more conservative ones (the state itself is pretty liberal, so I don’t know what I am expecting, although I am sure there are pockets that are better). Does anyone have church recommendations? I am pretty “picky” with my church/mass wants - although I fi.nd them evolving often. I like masses where people participate, not just stand there like bumps. Although I appreciate the beauty of the Latin mass, I find it hard to appreciate it, since I do not understand any of it. I like music to be a part of the service, and yes I am one of those who occasionally enjoys more contemporary, upbeat styles versus some of the more traditional stuff (gasp, I know), but not necessarily cymbals and drums. (we have a contemp choir that sings some popular Christian music and this can be a nice change at times. I know alot of you do not appreictae this, and that is fine. I find it helps me get more involved in worshiping, as long as they are not changing the “required” music - gloria, alleluia, great amen, our father, etc.) I would like a parish that is family friendly, preferably ones that are associated with schools, as we have a newborn, 16 month old, 2yo , and 3 1/2 yo. The older two will be in preschool, with the others to follow in a few years, and I am a big proponent of Catholic Education. Do any of the schools have daily/weekly mass? I searched some of the individula on