Anyone giving up smoking for Lent?

I’ve been smoking cigarettes (2 pack a day habit) for over 30 years. I’ve got a cigarette in my mouth as I’m typing this. Ash Wednesday is my quit date. I’m laying in a stock of Nicorette gum, (to handle the cravings), sugar-free lollipops and rosary beads, centerpieces and crucifixes (making rosaries will give me something to do with my hands – I hope). And I’ve got an appointment with my confessor on Tuesday morning to enlist his prayers and blessing.

I know I will need prayer and support. If anyone else is trying to overcome this sin this Lent, perhaps we can use this thread to offer each other encouragement in this discipline. Former smokers are welcome to offer tips on how they did it. Thank you. . . please pray for me; I’ll pray for you. . .

You will be in my prayers.

Many years ago (the '50s), when I was in grade school, there was a sermon preached by our Parish Priest (who also happened to be Archdiocesan Vicar General) about giving up smoking for Lent. He cautioned that one be very careful about doing so, lest one commit more sins through crankiness and bad temper than one could gain grace from the denial.

Mind you, back then there was not nearly so much (hardly any) support available for those who sought to kick the habit, but his words suggest that, today, getting that support is probably a good idea.

All the best in your efforts.

Blessings,

Gerry

[quote=Gerry Hunter]You will be in my prayers.
Many years ago (the '50s), when I was in grade school, there was a sermon preached by our Parish Priest (who also happened to be Archdiocesan Vicar General) about giving up smoking for Lent. He cautioned that one be very careful about doing so, lest one commit more sins through crankiness and bad temper than one could gain grace from the denial.

[/quote]